Punk Cover Week #1: Centerfold

As promised, this week will be punk covers week, as in classic songs you may know, covered by punk bands.   I’m starting out the week with an 80s classic by the J. Geils Band, Centerfold, covered by one of  my favorite bands, Against All Authority.   

Just proves that the best song is a punk song.   And this song should’ve been punk all along!!

This entry was posted in music, punk music, punk song of the day. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Punk Cover Week #1: Centerfold

  1. Hacksaw says:

    Sacrilege!

    This classic 80’s tune (and humorous video) should not be defiled by any modern band, punk or otherwise.

    It’s almost as bad as when Mariah Carey thought it would be a good idea to record “Bringin’ On The Heartbreak”, the song that launched Def Leppard into national recognition and was one of the first power ballads that gained international acclaim.

  2. I was never much of a fan of the J. Geils Band, but this version is okay. Centerfold on Steroids! And don’t mind hacksaw – he would disagree with ANYTHING you post! Actually, I like some remakes better than the originals.

    • Hacksaw says:

      Now Girlscout, that’s not entirely true…although I do tend to disagree with Polarbear on most issues, I don’t simply disagree with him on principle like you suggest – if I think he’s correct on some issue, I have no problem saying so.

      I do believe that some classic songs are sacrosanct (like “Heartbreak”, much more so than “Centerfold”) and should not be remade, and I’ll admit that I have a special place in my heart for most of the tunes from the early 80’s.

  3. Hacksaw says:

    Since the topic of this particular blog is music, I feel it’s appropriate to wish a heartfelt R.I.P. to Ronnie James Dio, who died of stomach cancer over the weekend. 😦

    The legendary artist’s career began in the late 1950’s but he really gained fame in 1979 as Ozzy Osborne’s replacement as the lead singer of Black Sabbath. He followed this with a highly successful solo career that spawned many hit singles. He is also credited with being the first performer to display the “devil’s horns” hand gesture \m/ that many associate with heavy metal music.

    I had never figured Bill O’Reilly of Fox News fame to be much of a “headbanger”, but I’ll be damned if he wasn’t rocking “Rainbow in the Dark” during the intro to “The O’Reilly Factor” tonight! \m/

  4. polarbear20 says:

    OK fine. How do you guys feel about this version? Even though -AAA- is one of my favorate band, I almost think this one is more awsomer.

    And Hacksaw, I’m surprised. I didn’t think you were a music fan. lol 😀 I knew Girlscout was, though she did say “it was shouting” the other day. 😦

  5. Hacksaw says:

    Yeah, some of us “heartless conservatives” still appreciate a truly talented artist or a very good tune every now & then! 😀

  6. therealgirlscout says:

    C.mom, pb! A lot of punk music IS just shouting! Now, a lot of heavy metal music is just shouting too – not saying it’s bad, just want to hear some actual singing too.
    Sooo…hacksaw is a “child of the 80’s”! I love a lot of the 80’s bands. Culture club, adam Ant, Asia, REO Speedwagon, Thompson Twins, Golden Earring, (retired guy and I

    • polarbear20 says:

      Oh okay, I was gonna say “don’t knock it till you try it”, but I remember you saying you were into metal too on one of Hittokiri’s posts at the old site. Yeah, some of it is just shouting. And that’s what’s so great about it. Kids like me making noise and having a good time. Sometimes you just need to shout about this shitty world. 😀 Plus people who can’t sing well or play their instruments well don’t have to be embarrassed. Cool for me!! 😀

      And girly, some metal is really just growling. Me, I don;t see how they do it without have a horribly sore throat!! lol I’ll stick to singing and shouting.

      Ahhh, I see. I just figured conservatives were into snotty “prog” rock or even worse, *gag* christen music. lol

      I KNEW IT!! I knew “Hacksaw21” wasn’t really 21 years old!! 😀

  7. therealgirlscout says:

    C.mom, pb! A lot of punk music IS just shouting! Now, a lot of heavy metal music is just shouting too – not saying it’s bad, just want to hear some actual singing too.
    Sooo…hacksaw is a “child of the 80’s”! I love a lot of the 80’s bands. Culture club, adam Ant, Asia, REO Speedwagon, Thompson Twins, Golden Earring, (retired guy and I played this group album until it wore out!), etc. The early 80’s is actually when punk music started, although some would argue it’s roots were in the late 70’s.
    Okay, now I’m going to be humming Vanilla Queen all day! 3 cheers for Golden Earring!!

  8. therealgirlscout says:

    Sorry about the double comment above. Don’t know what the hell happened with that!

  9. Hacksaw says:

    “I KNEW IT!! I knew “Hacksaw21″ wasn’t really 21 years old!! 😀

    Obviously! I picked “21″ because I had to pick a number, and I was born on that day of the month many moons ago…

  10. therealgirlscout says:

    LOL! You’re right, pb! Sometimes I wonder how those heavy metal guys still have voices after all the growling and screaming! Okay, I’ll agree with you that sometimes you just have to shout about the shit that happens in this world!!!

Leave a Reply

