Punk Cover Week #3: Brown Eye Girl

Today we have a real oldie, no lyrics.  If you old folks don’t know this one, hand over your AARP card!!!   But just don’t go to Arizona, and risk being carded!! 😀    From 1967 it’s Van Morrison’s Brown Eyed Girl, covered by pop punk band Lagwagon.   You can find this track on their 1994 album Trashed.    Once again, and I’m ready to be barbecued by the oldies fans, I think the cover is great!!   

Hey, Van Morrison, isn’t that the guy in the Obama administration Glenn Beck harassed in one of his tin foil hat rants?? 😀 😀

This entry was posted in music, punk music, punk song of the day. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Punk Cover Week #3: Brown Eye Girl

  1. Hacksaw says:

    “Brown Eyed Girl” is a terrific song that has been covered by everybody & their brother, it’s a hard song to screw up.

    I also like Jimmy Buffett’s version, it’s pretty faithful to the original.

  2. therealgirlscout says:

    I LOVE Van Morrison!!!! retired Guy and I just listened to a bunch of his CD’s on our Road Trip last weekend! Also take all his CD’s with us when we go to the cabin in Pa. in Oct. His songs are perfect for Autumnal listening! LOL (pb – I’ll have to wait till I get home to listen to this – can’t get it on my work computer.)

  3. polarbear20 says:

    I hope you finally got to listen to it GS. And yeah, one thing I love about covers is it gets you to listen to stuff you never thought you would. Like some oldies for example. I hear a great cover and I end up liking the original plus other tracks by that band.

    If you really want something fun, check out the band Me First and the Gimme Gimmes. They’re a punk rock band consisting of Fat Mike of NOFX as well as members of Lagwagon and Swingin’ Utters, they do all punk covers. They’ve done everything from “Leavin On A Jet Plane” (which you most likely heard in commercials for Bing last year) and Sweet Caroline, Rocket Man, Stairway to Heaven and I’ll Be There.

  4. therealgirlscout says:

    LOL! “Leaving on a Jet Plane” on a Bing commercial??!! Gee – I actually remember when Peter, Paul and Mary first sang it! LOL

  5. HybridTalk says:

    My first girlfriend had brown eyes and this was our “song”. Brings back memories.

Leave a Reply

