Food Stamps & voting

After work yesterday I stopped off at the grocery store to pick up a couple of items my wife needed for dinner.

The woman before me in the check out was purchasing four filet minion steaks, and a large bag of king crab legs. Her bill came to $85 something, and to my surprise, and that of the checkout lady, the woman paid with Food Stamps.

I was going to make a comment but the checkout lady said, “I didn’t know you could buy THAT kind of food with Food Stamps. Wow!”

The lady making the purchase said, “Oh sure, I get this all the time. Isn’t it great?”

As I drove home I thought about our fair society and how you really can’t legislate fairness. Consider that I was heading home for hamburgers while I was also paying for this woman, and maybe her family, to eat filet and crab legs. According to her I appear to pay for that kind of good eating all the time. On a scale of fairness one side (mine) carries all the weight while the other side of the scale gets a free ride. That just isn’t fair.

Reminds me of a comment Professor Walter Williams has made regarding voting. He points out the he doesn’t get a vote in FORD or Cisco or BP because he doesn’t have an investment in any of those companies. Likewise, many Americans are not paying taxes. So the voting system should be that every American gets one vote, and then if you pay takes, you get another vote. So if you are on the welfare system, you can’t just keep voting more of the working people’s money to your wallet.

Those with “skin in the game”, the taxpayers, get an extra vote.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Food Stamps & voting

  1. therealgirlscout says:

    Yeah, this pisses me off, too! Not only that, the woman usually has acrylic nails with designs, (at least $30 a session), a pedicure, (another $32), the latest cell phone technology, and her kids are throwing a bunch of junk candy on the counter with her food purchases. There should be a limit as to what food stamps can buy and this limit whould EXCLUDE crab legs or lobster tails! I’m lucky if I get a lobster tail dinner about once every 2 or 3 years, and I can afford it. It’s ALL in the priorities. Maybe they should start teaching “Priorities in Life” in schools. Some people don’t have a clue…

    • polarbear20 says:

      There should be a limit as to what food stamps can buy and this limit whould EXCLUDE crab legs or lobster tails!

      See, now this is why liberals are smarter than conservatives. You are smart Girlscout, that’s the way to fix the system: reform the problems. Rather than Hybrid who wants to further disenfranchise the poor by taking away their voting rights and give more power to the ruling class.

      Maybe they should start teaching “Priorities in Life” in schools. Some people don’t have a clue…

      And I could teach it!! As anti-materialistic as I am I know my priorities. When it comes to money, I’m pretty cheap. I sew and love coupons!! 😀

  2. hybridtalk1 says:

    Ugg – darn multi-taking… Not “filet minion” but “Filet mignon”….

  3. therealgirlscout says:

    I knew what you meant! Sometimes I type so fast that I do the same thing!!

  4. polarbear20 says:

    Likewise, many Americans are not paying taxes. So the voting system should be that every American gets one vote, and then if you pay takes, you get another vote.

    Wow, I can’t believe what I’m reading here. You want to take us back to the 1770s where only white, male landowners could vote. In other words, you want to take power away from the poor, the unemployed, the young and put it in the hands of the ruling class. Wow, I knew you had a founding fathers fetish, but I didn’t think it ran this deep. Tell me, what do you think about the “coloreds” voting? Women?

    Those with “skin in the game”, the taxpayers, get an extra vote.

    Of course the skinheads think they’re entitled to another vote. 😉

    • hybridtalk1 says:

      Oh PolarCzar, your withering soul is so narrow minded and poisoned by liberal politics. There is nothing sinister or racist about equalizing to playing field. Maybe you can’t understand that there is a group who pays no taxes who also insists that those who do pay taxes pay more taxes for the benefit of the non-tax paying citizens. Dr. Williams and I am not advocate taking away their rights to vote, but we want to give them an incentive to work, and pay taxes and not be a burden to America. Like Ben Franklin observed;

      “I am for doing good to the poor, but…I think the best way of doing good to the poor, is not making them easy in poverty, but leading or driving them out of it. I observed…that the more public provisions were made for the poor, the less they provided for themselves, and of course became poorer. And, on the contrary, the less was done for them, the more they did for themselves, and became richer.” — Benjamin Franklin

      • polarbear20 says:

        There is nothing sinister or racist about equalizing to playing field.

        Oh jesuschrist, I bet you were one of the people who thought the segregated schools in the south that were “separate but equal” were truly equal. (rolls eyes)

        It sure as hell is sinister to give the poor a “lesser” voice in governmental affairs. It might as well be the “white protestant land owning man” thing all over again. If the rich taxpayers have the loudest voice then of course people who want to scratch their backs will rise to the top and win elections. Same reason why Wall Street had its ass kissed by paid off politicians.

        Dr. Williams and I am not advocate taking away their rights to vote, but we want to give them an incentive to work, and pay taxes and not be a burden to America.

        Yes you are taking away voting rights. Your trying to give them an incentive to work, an incentive to work jobs…jons that are not there. Considering how corporate greed and asskissing of “Reganomics” raped the industrial jobs of the midwest over the past decades and outsorucing under George II even sent customer service jobs overseas, no wonder there’s so many unemployed people.

        And what about disabled people? Are they gonna get less of a vote too if they can’t work? If you take away the disabled voice in politics, then who will stop assholes like Rand Paul who decided that “handicapped people don’t deserve to see floors above the ground floor”?

    • hybridtalk1 says:

      Now, before you launch into another uninformed attack on another founding father, keep in mind that it was Ben Franklin who raised money for America’s first hospital with the intention of servicing the poor.

      Pennsylvania Hospital: A friend of Franklin, Dr. Thomas Bond, came up with the idea of establishing a public hospital. Bond was unable to raise the money, so he turned to Franklin, who mounted a public relations and information campaign in support of a hospital. The colonial government finally agreed and the hospital was founded in 1751. The hospital’s mission was to serve the mentally ill, along with providing medical care to poor citizens who could not afford a private physician. The Pennsylvania Hospital is considered to be the first public hospital in the United States. While raising money for the hospital, Franklin came up with a new idea for combining public (government) money with private donations, which created the first matching grant.

      Read more: http://www.uphs.upenn.edu/paharc/features/creation.html

  5. therealgirlscout says:

    Calm down, pb! hybrid’s just being his usual sarcastic self.
    I guarantee that Retired Guy is cheaper than you, pb! I don’t have the time or space to list all the ways he is so CHEAP! My daughter was just complaining yesterday that he gave her a dried-out, 20 yr. old paint brush yesterday to do some painting! She had to go buy a new one and started telling me how cheap Dad is…..I had to remind her that I’ve LIVED with him for almost 40 yrs. so I’m well aware of his frugality!

  6. Princess says:

    wow girly, i agree with you………i have said it THOUSANDS of times. if someone is on OUR dime, they should be limited on what they can buy with OUR dime.
    also, they should be required to pass drug & alcohol tests……..just like the EMPLOYED people do……….ya know, the people who SUPPLY the dime THEY are spending.

  7. hybridtalk1 says:

    PolarCzar – “I bet you were one of the people who thought the segregated schools in the south that were “separate but equal” were truly equal. (rolls eyes)”

    No, that was the Democrats in the south who wanted to keep the slaves on the plantation.

    PolarCzar –“It sure as hell is sinister to give the poor a “lesser” voice in governmental affairs.”

    No, it is not. No the issue is paying taxes. I come in contact you’re your “poor” folk every week through my church. Those poor folk have Iphones. I can’t afford an Iphone. They have big screen HDTVs. I only have a 36 inch tv. What Walter Williams and I am proposing is to check the power of people who pay no taxes to raise my taxes for themselves to prosper. Let’s change the tax structure so those folks who reach into my wallet so they can have filet and crab legs while purchasing the latest app for their Iphones on my dime will actually see their income shrink from those government programs they approve, because for now it doesn’t cost them anything. Why are you against the richest tax payers having a voice but support the non-tax payers having a voice.

    PolarCzar – “an incentive to work jobs…jons that are not there.”

    Well, not in Obama’s 10% unemployment economy, or his economy where companies that work are targeted for destruction. After President Potty-mouth is tossed out and we elect someone who understands and likes a free market maybe we can go back to the unemployment of 2008 where the highest unemployment was 5%.

    PolarCzar – “And what about disabled people? Are they gonna get less of a vote too if they can’t work?”

    I think we both know that there are those who cannot work, and those who play the system so they don’t have to work.

    • polarbear20 says:

      I think we both know that there are those who cannot work, and those who play the system so they don’t have to work.

      Not everyone. I remember this one piece of video I saw. It was from one of those teabagger events last year. There was a disabled, poor homeless man sitting on the ground. Apparently he had Parkinsons or MS, but that didn’t stop the crowd from verbally berating him. They even threw money at him and mocked him. But the man sat there quietly and didn’t move.

      That video really helped me make up my mind. That’s what this is: a battle between fat, loud rich douchebags who have everything and then some who will attack a disabled homeless man to hold onto what they have vs. those who have nothing at all.

  8. mzkatie says:

    Valid, valid, VALID!!!!

    Girly, you are SO right. Food Stamps need restrictions! Yes on things like crab legs & lobster tails… but also what if we thought of the money that would be saved if Food Stamps only bought the off-brands of cereals, yogurts, etc??? I don’t want to pay for your $7 Dora the Explorer yogurts! Buy the $.89 yogurt!

    Princess, I agree 100%! DRUG TESTS!!!! I mean DUH. There are people abusing the system, using Food Stamps so they have more money for drugs. I don’t mind helping the poor & disabled.. but I don’t want to make drugs easier to obtain for crackheads, potheads, & pillheads!!

    • mzkatie says:

      I just want to say I’m not against Food Stamps & I don’t think they should EVER be taken away. I’m all for them.. I personally know the difficulty of keeping food in the fridge when you’re working with limited funds.

      I just think that Food Stamps need to be regulated. Food Stamps are necessary for our poor citizens, however they are being taken advantage of. And in an economy like this, we can’t afford wasteful spending like this.

      PS. I know that drug test cost money… but I firmly believe drug testing Food Stamp recipients would be cheaper in the long run.

  9. Princess says:

    simply put, it should be more difficult to even GET food stamps to begin with.
    and if EVERY SINGLE recipient over the age of 16 was REQUIRED to pass drug & alcohol tests…………….how many MILLIONS of people would be booted OFF the system?
    which in turn would leave MORE funds available to the TRUE needy of this country?
    think about this, if the entire government “aid” system was centralized, and ANY and ALL assistance from ANY taxpayers dollars was ALL run through the SAME system.
    and drug & alcohol testing was a REQUIREMENT for ANY person over the age of 16.
    think about how much MORE $$$$$$ would be available to the actual NEEDY of this country & how their standard of life would raise dramatically!
    come on now you libs………..THINK about it. ya’ll want to take care of the sick & disabled………….EVERYONE does, including us “righties”.
    and maybe, just maybe, OUR taxes would be reduced because there is not as much “need” out there……………..hmmmmm and then people might be more willing to “give” on their own………….

    • polarbear20 says:

      if EVERY SINGLE recipient over the age of 16 was REQUIRED to pass drug & alcohol tests

      Alcohol? Are you FUCKING kidding me? What, would only rich right wing christens be allowed to drink alcohol? Last time I checked alcohol wasn’t eligible to be purchased with FOOD stamps, so if people want to spend their money on alcohol, that is their right. And your fascist nanny state has no business with this. “Uhhh sorry kids, you don’t get to eat any more because your mom/dad drinks alcohol”. I mean the drug testing was already bad enough, but now alcohol too? You just want to oppress poor people.

      And what if one of these 16-21 year olds test positive for alcohol? Are they gonna face ‘underage drinking” charges because of this? Like I said, just another excuse to punish, imprison and harass poor people.

      Said the polar bear, beer in had as he types this. 😉

Leave a Reply

