Open Water swim at Headlands

My wife and I had some vacation time this week so we went up to Mentor Headlands Beach to have a relaxing day. The last couple of weeks since my mother-in-law passed away have been difficult and the beach is always relaxing for us.

We went on Tuesday, and what a day for the beach it was. Warm but not HOT. The lake was just perfect and that was good for me because I wanted to finally get in some Open Water swimming. I brought my swimming gear, including my fins, and planned to try some open water swimming if the conditions were right. They were. After sunning for an hour I went into the lake and swam out to one of the buoys and made sure my wife could see me. Then I swam up to the next buoy on the right, turned around and came back two buoys and back again, swimming between the three buoys for some thirty minutes.

It was everything I had hoped it would be, and more. I was staying on the shore-side of the buoys but once when I was “In the zone” I headed out beyond the buoys. All in all it was a great experience and allowed me to check off one of the things I wanted to do before I couldn’t do it anymore. If I would have been in better swimming shape ( I have not swam a mile in a couple of years) I might have tried swimming the whole beach but thirty minutes seemed like enough to experience the thrill of open water swimming.

Much nicer than having those pool walls holding you in, but not quite as clean and the pool.

(Yes, I had the Speedo…)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Open Water swim at Headlands

  1. therealgirlscout says:

    A speedo?? Oh, HELL NO!! LOL!
    I LOVE Mentor Headlands – it’s one of our favorite beaches! Also love East Harbor State Park up near Marblehead. We always make a day of it, take along food to cookout and spend the whole day!

  2. hybridtalk1 says:

    I thought you might get a kick out of that GS…

    LOL!!

    Back when I was in my twenties I would take my dates to Headlands. Seems most girls south of Chagrin Blvd (Beechwood?)are not aware of a “beach” in the area. When I took them for a beach date they would tell me how lucky I was being so near a beach like Mentor Headlands. My wife and I make sure we get there a couple of times a year. We love it.

  3. polarbear20 says:

    I only swim naked. It’s really the only way to go.

  4. therealgirlscout says:

    pb – Retired Guy agrees with you!

  5. princess says:

    ahhh hybrid, i missed you. i was there with my grandson on tues night…….love that place!

  6. princess says:

    btw, next time you go there, come up the road a bit & come eat at Brennan’s. Make sure you ask for me………..LOL

    • hybridtalk1 says:

      Would that be in the area south of the 44 exit where all the growth has taken place over the last ten years?

Leave a Reply

