I want to be President.

I recently asked my friends’ little girl what she wanted to be when she grows up. She said she wanted to be President of the United States . Both of her parents, liberal Democrats, were standing there.

So I asked her, “If you were President, what would be the first thing you would do?” She replied, “I’d give food and houses to all the homeless people.”

Her parents beamed.

“Wow…what a worthy goal,” I told her. “But you don’t have to wait until you’re President to do that. You can come over to my house and mow the lawn, pull weeds, and sweep my driveway, and I’ll pay you $50. Then I’ll take you over to the grocery store where the homeless guy hangs out, and you can give him the $50 to use toward food and a new house.”

She thought that over for a few seconds, then she looked me straight in the eye and asked, “Why doesn’t the homeless guy come over and do the work, and you can just pay him the $50?”

I said, “Welcome to the Republican Party.” Her parents still aren’t speaking to me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I want to be President.

  1. Girlscout says:

    Let’s face it, hybrid. No one cares about this blog site anymore. I’m the only one left who comments! I just wish we could find a forum that we could all join that has many other members so we could have some interaction. And most importantly, stay in touch with each other.

  2. Girlscout says:

    Okay, my computer at home keeps saying that my comment is “waiting moderation”. WTF? Please, someone, just respond and let me know if my comments are getting through?? Thanks

  3. Hacksaw says:

    I checked this site and didn’t see any comments in either of these last 2 posts by Hybrid, and when I logged in, I saw all of these comments on the Dashboard and a link that said “Pending”. I clicked on it and underneath each comment, there were a series of links that looked like this:

    Approve | Reply | Quick Edit | Edit | Spam | Trash

    So I clicked all of the “Approve” links, and when I checked the site again, the comments were visible. I’m not much of a computer whiz but I would hope that any one of us would be able to make all comments visible on this site.

  4. therealgirlscout says:

    I’m not afraid to admit that I’m a computer-illiterate! So, hacksaw, does this mean that every time I want a comment to appear, I have to click on Pending and then “Approve”?

  5. Girlscout says:

    No……but I wrote that comment at home and I didn’t notice if it showed up immediately. Here at work I can always see the comments. Tonight’s mission: Write a comment and see if it appears!

  6. therealgirlscout says:

    Testing….1…2….3

  7. therealgirlscout says:

    Okay, my comments are now showing up on my home computer. Thanks, hacksaw

  8. myfoxmystere says:

    Well, I do try to write posts and comments here…looks like life gets quite busy! And about that little girl…she has brains!

  9. hybridtalk1 says:

    Sorry, I was out on vacation and wasn’t reading any emails.

  10. princess says:

    i’m here sometimes……i find myself missing the old fox8 blogs….alas, those were the days.
    hello all, sorry been outta touch. hope all is well with everyone

Leave a Reply

